All ideas come to me while I work

Lets be brief. I sling drinks and pizzas for a living. Five years ago I would have told you that doing this kind of work was beneath me. I have since learned that no job is beneath me. I love what I do. I’m good at it, and it pays well. 

The great thing about Bartending is that I have all walks of life sit at my bar. These people influence me in ways I hadn’t anticipated during all my years of desk jobs and school. 

By nature I am a fairly judgmental person. I would like to say that I’m not but I would be lying. Sometimes it shows and sometimes I manage the barest semblance of a poker face. Something I have learned from this, however, is that I can learn something from everyone that sits at my bar. While I’m judging I’m also absorbing. Later I may or may not regret how I handled a situation or spoke with a person, but I always reflect. 

Ramble, ramble, rambke; damn it Blythe, you said you would be brief. 

So I did. 

Yesterday I’m at work and thinking about next week and this program I’m starting at the gym. I’m still dwelling on just how many changes I have to make in my daily routine; lifestyle changes, diet, mental. While I’m stewing this over and asking myself what the f*** am I doing, it hits me; this is what I need to bring to Beer and Lattes. 

How perfectly fitting. A blog entitled Beer and Lattes will be about making positive life changes which will require fewer beers and lattes. 

Starting Saturday I’m going to chronicle what I put myself through. The good, the bad, and the nasty. I want to keep myself accountable. I want to have a sense of humor about it. I want to see positive life changes. And for some reason I want to do it to the amusement of others. 

As of publishing this post, I am home nursing a terrible chest and sinus cold. Which means Saturday is going to be super exciting. Hopefully it’s gone by Monday as that is my first personal training session. Or it could be an extremely amusing start to the next 12 weeks. 

Author: blyther

There isn't much to say. I'm a bartender, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a pain-in-the-ass. I like movies and music. I like to talk too much about things I don't fully understand. I have a limited grasp on politics, government, life, and love. What I do have is so many opinions on random crap. So welcome to my depository for the things floating in my brain as they are being purged out via keyboard.

Leave a Reply

