Weigh in, light weight

It’s officially started. What I have been looking forward to yet dreading for the last few months. Today was weigh in.

For a little more background, I have signed up to do the Biggest Loser competition through my local fitness center. Yes, they are totally cashing in on the Biggest Loser trend, and yes, I feel some forms of shame when admitting I signed up.

Why the shame?

Not because it has come down to this, an expensive competition to attempt weight loss and regain confidence. It’s just that I feel a bit crappy taking part in a competition that… profits? off of others self-neglect and insecurities.

I’m doing this because this will be good for me. I’m not in it for the weight loss as much as I am for the re-configuring of my routine and lifestyle. Not to say that my lifestyle is bad, it’s just not very good.

I eat too much, I drink too much, I’m too damn lazy. I have no energy and I really have no endurance. My child will be two this summer and I can’t keep up with him. What happens when he wants to go to the park, and the zoo, and the pool? It’s exhausting thinking about it let alone doing it.

I’ve been doing okay at the gym on my own for the last few months. I’ve been a member since August and I was going a respectable three times a week until the holidays. I fell off the wagon with the craziness that is family, parties, presents, etc. Then I got this sinus plague and that’s just ruined it. In the four months I went steadily, I had managed to lose a whopping six pounds. I would like to say I gained some muscle, but my clothes tell a different story (or the same story as it were).

Weigh-in today and I hope this leads somewhere positive. I was surprised by the people who showed up. It’s a very large group, 50 or so participants and the biggest surprise was the average age of participants. Being nearly 40 I would say that I was at the young end of the spectrum. For reals. Yes, there were people there who were probably younger than me, but only a few. The vast majority I would estimate into mid-40s to 50s. Go them, I have a feeling they will be the hardest competitors of the lot!

I sat in this gymnasium, listeed to the lead trainer talk and then listened to some testimonials and I would like to say that I was feeling inspired; but I wasn’t. Mostly I was wondering if my kid had crapped his pants and if the child care people were trying to get a hold of me. (My gym has free child care, which is why I pay them money, so they can take him for two hours and I can do…. stuff).

Anyways, we got through the motivational blah blah blahs and then stood in line for 20 minutes to get our pre-weigh-in photos. I hate these photos so much. I’m especially thrilled since my nose is still bright red, I have on last night’s make-up, and I’m pretty sure you could see through my compression pants.

Finally we got to the important part, the weigh-in. So I stepped on the scale and prepared myself. I’ve been sitting pretty steady around 192-193. I’m not proud of this, but it is what it is. Look down at the scale and 186.6 is staring back at me.

Crap.

I lost weight BEFORE the competition even started.  I last stepped on a scale a week and a half ago at my last group class. I was 192.3.  So, I lost almost six pounds in 10 days because I was sick.

This will be the ONLY time you ever hear me complain about LOSING weight. I needed those six pounds so that I could lose those six pounds as part of the competition! Now I have to hopefully maintain this through the week. This sounds so weird typing out but  how many of you have actually lost weight due to illness and then kept it off? I’ve always found that after becoming healthy again, the weight suddenly finds you, sticks, and brings a few friends along just to keep you company.

And so, folks, that’s where I’m at. Weighing in at 186.6 pounds for the start of this 12 week program. I had a 35 pound weight loss goal, but I guess it’s only 30 now. Sorry team, I accidentally lost those five pounds too soon.

Author: blyther

There isn't much to say. I'm a bartender, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a pain-in-the-ass. I like movies and music. I like to talk too much about things I don't fully understand. I have a limited grasp on politics, government, life, and love. What I do have is so many opinions on random crap. So welcome to my depository for the things floating in my brain as they are being purged out via keyboard.

Leave a Reply

