Back to back workouts and dieting sucks!

green-hairGetting my hair colored was vastly more important that my regularly scheduled Monday training appointment, I ended up rescheduling for 8 a.m. Tuesday.  I was reminded that I actually prefer to work out at 8 a.m. The Bad news is that it set me up for Tuesday-Wednesday back-to-back workouts. Blugh.

As expected I am struggling hard with the dietary aspect of this whole thing. It’s easy to say “I’m going to do this!” than to actually follow through. Food is tasty. Also, like many mothers, I struggle with the need to eat on the fly, whatever is within reach and can be consumed in under 15 seconds. Until this point, my daytime meals consisted of toast, cheese sticks, cookies, and granola bars.

Now some may say, “You know this seems like the perfect opportunity to eat an apple!” If only apples had a flavor when you eat them and not that weird, acidic tang ten minutes after you ate it. I would love to dip apple slices in peanut butter to make them palatable to me, but no, then the toddler expects to suck the peanut butter off the apple, and most likely, try to eat it as well. Something I have struggled with is eating an apple directly. See I’m the type that has to cut my apple up, otherwise you might bite into something you can’t see. There are bugs and worms and gross things in apples, I’m not going in blind!

One of my bosses recommended lunch meat rolls.  She said she will take a slice of lunch meat, low fat cheese, and maybe a little lettuce and roll it up and chow on the fly. This is not a terrible idea and one I will be trying. (Note to self, buy lunch meat.)

Did I also mention how HARD it is to diet when you work at a pizza joint? One that has an amazing tap beer lineup? My willpower worked serious overtime today. There were donuts (from Greenbush!) and a pepperoni crew pie.

Up until last week, crew pies tended to be some experimental monstrosity that I would avoid. Sometimes we got something simple, like cheese or pepperoni, but most times someone would put on a blindfold, grab from random cambros, and throw the toppings in the general direction of the crust. (This is likely untrue but it’s what I imagine happens back there every time I see one of these artistic nightmares). Ever since I started this diet and swore off pizza (ok, a slice once a week won’t hurt anyone) it’s suddenly all one topping, simple pies. Today was a huge test of willpower and I proudly say I passed.

Back on topic: A brutal personal training appointment Tuesday morning and an equally brutal group class Wednesday evening has led to a hungry, crabby, painfully sore momma who has little patience for anything or anyone. The positive thing I can take away from all of this is that I wasn’t the whiniest quitter in the group on Wednesday. I was proud of myself for this fact, and I will likely rant about this at a later time. Probably after our Saturday morning group class. I think that will be ugly.

I’m sure there are some life lessons to be learned in the past couple of days. They will come to me later. For now I’m taking the little victories and running with them.

Tuesday Weigh-in: 187.9 lbs

Wednesday Weigh-in: 186.4 lbs

Author: blyther

There isn't much to say. I'm a bartender, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a pain-in-the-ass. I like movies and music. I like to talk too much about things I don't fully understand. I have a limited grasp on politics, government, life, and love. What I do have is so many opinions on random crap. So welcome to my depository for the things floating in my brain as they are being purged out via keyboard.

Leave a Reply

