Accountability is for the birds 

Holding yourself accountable is the most difficult part of any lifestyle adjustment. Three weeks in and I am barely holding onto the diet changes. I start strong on Monday and by Thursday I’m just over it. Over the “healthy” snacks, the low-calorie dinner, and the salads. Just looking at lettuce makes me want to have a beer.

I type this as I mentally repeat “I will go to the gym at 8 a. m.” There is no reason I can’t go. My husband is taking the child to his mom for the day, I don’t work until 10, and I’m going to be up at 7 anyways. Most likely I will have a beer while I play XBox, have trouble sleeping, and decide I’m too tired and it’s too much effort to put on clothes and drive my lazy ass the five minutes it’ll take to get there.

Lets face it, getting there is the hardest part. Anyone will tell you that. What keeps me accountable is spending money and making appointments. I know that adding at least one more day at the gym to my routine will make a world of difference, but since it’s not a scheduled appointment that is paid for, it’s easy to just not do it.

So what will keep me accountable and get my lazy ass to the gym on non-scheduled days? I’m still working that part out. If I figure it out, I will let you know.

Saturday’s weigh-in, the last day of week three: 186.6 lbs. Well that’s a familiar number.

Originally I wrote this Monday evening, on my phone. I didn’t get a chance to read through it, edit, and spell check so I held off posting. It’s 10:21 p.m. on Tuesday night and my husband is playing Heroes of the Storm with our friends. No one asked me to play and they filled up the group, so it seems like a good time to revisit and edit the post. 

I did, in fact make it to the gym. Got there at about 8:15 a.m. and did a 30 minute interval run (90 seconds walking at 3.3 mph and 90 seconds running at 5 mph). It was easier than I thought and I’m really glad I made it. Weigh-in this morning was 184.6 lbs. Hurray!

 

Author: blyther

There isn't much to say. I'm a bartender, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a pain-in-the-ass. I like movies and music. I like to talk too much about things I don't fully understand. I have a limited grasp on politics, government, life, and love. What I do have is so many opinions on random crap. So welcome to my depository for the things floating in my brain as they are being purged out via keyboard.

Leave a Reply

