The tale of the accidental motivator (or don’t be that person)

The first thing they really pushed about this whole Biggest Loser program is that you can make friends and socialize. That’s great and all. Finding people you can partner with and use to motivate each other is great. As social as I am outside of the gym, I am far less so than at the gym. I’m there for one thing: to get fit. I will chat with my teammates, I will help motivate everyone, but I am not there to socialize and make friends.

Case in point:

Circuit training is hard. That’s why we do it. HIIT style circuits suck balls but are totally worth the effort. So when the trainer is counting down the last 10 seconds of the interval and starts repeating himself at four, you can bet your ass someone isn’t paying attention. Look up to see two of the older ladies have completely stopped working out and are standing around deep in conversation. So the trainer is repeating FOUR
for about 10 seconds in an attempt to get them to realize that they are actually creating more work and effort for everyone else and since I’m stuck in burpee hell I am milliseconds away from walking over and hitting them with their own talkerdumbbells. When they finally pay attention, one of them has the audacity to say “What? We were talking.”

OFFS.

This is why I don’t socialize at the gym. Maybe before class. Maybe after class. Definitely not during. It’s far too distracting.

Another case in point:

pay attention.gif

People who are so distracted that they don’t pay attention to what the trainer is saying. If you ask me what the exercise is, there is a very good chance that I will lie to you. We’ve all paid a lot of money to be apart of that program and we expect to see results. I am not going to see results if I have to spend 15-20 seconds of my workout time explaining what the exercise is. It’s going to piss me the fuck off and I’m going to tell you the wrong thing so that it will hopefully humiliate you into doing your damn job and paying attention!

These people motivate me to NOT BE LIKE THEM.

Finally:

If you are going to be either of these people, aside from the fact that you are motivating people to be nothing like you; I swear to go I had better not hear you complain about not making any progress. You only get back what you put in. If you don’t put in any effort you aren’t getting shit out of it. We’re here to work, lose weight, gain strength, and be healthier people; not to make your new best friend.

friends.gif

Week four complete. Today’s weigh-in 184.4 lbs. Down 2.2 lbs overall. Still climbing the hill.

Author: blyther

There isn't much to say. I'm a bartender, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a pain-in-the-ass. I like movies and music. I like to talk too much about things I don't fully understand. I have a limited grasp on politics, government, life, and love. What I do have is so many opinions on random crap. So welcome to my depository for the things floating in my brain as they are being purged out via keyboard.

Leave a Reply

