Talk about demoralizing

Last week was all about being motivated by others, this week lets focus on being demoralized by others.

When I see strong women at the gym, it motivates me to be like them. They are my role models. Sometimes I feel like a creeper, it’s just that they are awesome. This isn’t about being demoralized by Wonder Woman’s half-sister. No, this is about the cheaters.

Every week we have a challenge that we have to do in our classes. Completing a challenge gains us a point towards our weekly goals. Have a bad weigh-in? Just make sure you get the challenge point and it won’t be so bad. I like the challenges. They engage me, give me a goal, feeds a competitive spirit. The first week it was how many meters can we row in two minutes. Weeks two and four were finding recipes and articles online. Week three was how many floors can you get on a stair-stepper in two minutes. This week… I didn’t fail per se, but it wasn’t good.

This week was a two-part challenge. How many push-ups can you do in one minute, followed by how long can you hold a plank. Now as long as you do the challenge you get the point. Do one push-up and hold a plank for a couple of seconds and you get the point. Great. Okay. I can do this. I’m not bad at push-ups…. oh… did I mention you can’t do modified push-ups? Well you can’t, so fuck me. Fine. What ever. I’ve been seeing a trainer since August and doing this program for four full weeks, I’m sure I can do one fucking standard push-up.

Spoiler alert: I CAN’T.

We partner off and I’m going second. I’m counting my partner’s push-ups and I’m looking around and what the ever-living hell is happening?  These aren’t push-ups. These are an abomination of an idea of a push-up. One woman had 48 push-ups, because apparently just stirring the air a bit counts. Another woman, who at least managed to bend her elbows at about 170°, well she got 42 push-ups.

thats not right.gif

Same went for planks.

 

planking

Most of the ladies claimed to hold a plank for well over two minutes. What they looked like was a cat in heat. I wanted to bitch slap their asses right out of the class, and the trainer doesn’t even call them on it! I keep looking at him, waiting, and he says NOTHING.

Then it’s my round and I go for a push-up and I literally get stuck trying to push back up and then fall. I spend the entire minute, my elbows collapsing, failing at doing one fucking push-up. I try to do the shoulder shrugging version of the push-up that the other women are all doing and the trainer CALLS ME ON IT! He wants to see just one solid push-up from me. He KNOWS I CAN DO IT. He finally lets me get away with going about half-way down and back up and gives me credit for one push-up, but it isn’t a real credit. Not in my mind it’s not. I didn’t touch my nose to the floor. I didn’t get myself back up. It’s a fake point damn it!

I planked like a champ though. No ass in the air planks for this girl. I got me a solid 1 minute 24 seconds of proper form plank. This is a big deal. In August I was lucky to get 30 seconds. A few weeks ago I could BARELY pull off a minute. Damn near 90 seconds is a solid win. And I did it the right way.

best i could.gifWhat I tell myself is that the trainer leading tonight’s class actually gives a shit about me and my progress. He has a vested interest in it as I pay him to kick my ass once a week. I tell myself that he’s written the others off as lost causes and he wants me to do things the right way. But to give them credit for completing the challenge, in my book that’s bullshit. Because of the way I think it had thrown my mental state off for the rest of class.

Weigh-in 184.8 lbs (Are you kidding me? Exact same weigh-in as last Wednesday?)

Author: blyther

There isn't much to say. I'm a bartender, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a pain-in-the-ass. I like movies and music. I like to talk too much about things I don't fully understand. I have a limited grasp on politics, government, life, and love. What I do have is so many opinions on random crap. So welcome to my depository for the things floating in my brain as they are being purged out via keyboard.

Leave a Reply

